Four Blue Raiders Honored by the Sun Belt

Posted Jul 23, 2007

Four Blue Raiders were selected as preseason All-Sun Belt performers by the head coaches at the Sun Belt Media Days in New Orleans, LA.

As the head coaches gather in New Orleans, LA. for the annual Sun Belt media days, one of the first orders of business was selecting the preseason awards.

In the preseason coaches poll Troy received 5 first place votes and 59 total points to take the top spot. Middle Tennessee was in 2nd with no first place votes and 44 total points. Arkansas State followed closely behind Middle Tennessee. They received one first place vote and was one point behind Middle Tennessee with 43 total points.

1. Troy (5) 59
2. Middle Tennessee 44
3. Arkansas State (1) 43
T4. Louisiana-Lafayette 37
T4. Louisiana-Monroe (1) 37
6. Florida Atlantic (1) 36
7. North Texas 22
8. Florida International 10

The Blue Raiders also had 4 players selected to the preseason All-Sun Belt team. Offensive lineman Franklin Dunbar, defensive linemen Tavares Jones and Erik Walden, and defensive back Damon Nickson. Nickson was also selected to the team as a return specialist.

QB: Omar Haugabook (Troy)
RB: Tyrell Fenroy (Louisiana-Lafayette)
RB: Calvin Dawson (Louisiana-Monroe)
WR: LaGregory Sapp (Louisiana-Monroe)
WR: Gary Banks (Troy)
TE: Zeek Zacharie (Louisiana-Monroe)
OL: Matt Mandich (Arkansas State)
OL: Jesse Newman (Louisiana-Lafayette)
OL: Kyle Cunningham (Louisiana-Monroe)
OL: Adam Hill (Louisiana-Monroe)
OL: Franklin Dunbar (Middle Tennessee)

DL: Josh Pinnick (Florida Atlantic)
DL: Tavares Jones (Middle Tennessee)
DL: Erik Walden (Middle Tennessee)
DL: Jeremiah Chapman (North Texas)
LB: Koby McKinnon (Arkansas State)
LB: Cergile Sincere (Florida Atlantic)
LB: Maurice Holman (North Texas)
DB: Tyrell Johnson (Arkansas State)
DB: Damon Nickson (Middle Tennessee)
DB: Aaron Weathers (North Texas)
DB: Leodis McKelvin (Troy)

Special Teams
P: Truman Spencer (North Texas)
PK: Drew Edmiston (Louisiana-Lafayette)
RS: Damon Nickson (Middle Tennessee)

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year
Omar Haugabook (Troy, QB)

Preseason Defensive Player of the Year
Tyrell Johnson (Arkansas State, S)

Related Stories
Blue Raider Preview- Defensive Line
 -by  Jul 6, 2007
Practice Report: Tuesday August 7
 -by  Aug 7, 2007
Blue Raider Preview- The Secondary
 -by  Jun 23, 2007

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
LB Tavares Jones (profile)
S Damon Nickson (profile)
DE Erik Walden (profile)
[View My HotList]